top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Most Asked Question

I've been through a lot of getting-to-know-you conversations in my life. We all have. And every time I mention my interest in cars (understated of course, so I don't sound completely crazy), I get asked the same question: So what's your favorite car? Well, my friend, I don't think you realize what a vague and yet loaded question that can be. You have asked for an answer far too complex for a few sentences, so prepare yourself, I may just set up my slideshow.

First let me explain why it is not such a simple question. As someone who as had a lot to of time to think about and explore different kinds of cars, I have lots of favorites in all different categories. Classics, muscle, import tuner, and supercar are just a few of the many categories that exist. I have a favorite for each category, and not really one that tops them all. So when you ask this question, I suggest you specify which category for which you want me to answer.

My second request when you ask this, is that you be respectful. True car enthusiasts respect all builds, brands, and loves. If you disagree or want to know why, then have a conversation with me. Don't start bashing everything I love.

So, getting back to the most asked question, here is how I normally answer. No, I don't have a particular favorite that outshines the rest, but here are my top two that I hope to someday own:

Toyota MK4 Supra

The MK4 Supra will forever be one of my top favorites. It's style, performance, and ability to be modified is incredibly attractive. Today the '90s sports car is appreciating in value, and when in good condition can sell for roughly $30,000. Not to mention it's one of the most reliable sports cars ever made. Toyota has always had a reputation for quality and reliability and the Supra is no exception. They are cheap to build and nearly impossible to break. This is great news for those who want to personalize their cars without compromising performance - or too much money. The MK4 came with a twin turbo 2JZ engine and a six-speed manual transmission from the factory, making 300hp. But the iron block and low compression pistons can handle 700hp reliably, and tops out the stock block at around 900hp. That is some serious power for such a small, cheap, dependable car. The final reason is slick styling and sound. The body styling is timeless and flawless. Even if it's now 20 years old, it's still one of the most desirable imports ever made. And if you've ever heard an MK4, you'll know exactly what I'm talking about.

1969 Mustang Boss 302

The 1969 Boss 302 was Ford's answer to Chevy's z28 Camaro of 1968. When they found out how fast the z28 was selling, they realized some of those customers might prefer a Ford equivalent, and they delivered. This is easily my favorite classic car. First of all it is stunningly beautiful. It has all the lines of the classic mustang, including the famed fastback and three sectioned taillights. But another fun fact about this car is that it was rated at 290hp from the factory's V8 engine. But the horsepower was actually around 350. Back in the day insurance companies were penalizing car that were over 300hp, hence the under-stated horsepower. But track versions of the car were making up to 450hp at 8,000 rpms, and every Boss 302 came with a four-speed manual transmission. These classic beauties are also appreciating in value. A 1969 Boss in decent condition sells for anything around $50,000. So if you have just $50k, you too can own a piece of classic American muscle car heritage.


bottom of page